New Jay Bennett: Whatever Happened I Apologize

4 12 2008

jay-bennett

 

 

 

 

Jay Bennett, maybe just for the “feedback wall” at the beginning of “Pot Kettle Black”, is a musical machine. The under-appreciated Bennett has been quietly releasing albums and running his recording facility Pieholden Studios for the past few years while his former bandmates have been winning grammy awards and touring with Neil Young. Four albums down, Jay Bennett has thrown the world a wild card. In his own words:

“It is stark, stripped down, and acoustic based—more so than any other record I have made. I really wanted to capture the simpler and more emotional nature of the songwriting, and I knew that the only way I could do this was to put it together quickly, with no second-guessing, and no heavy deliberating about minor details. Consequently I would have to learn to embrace the resultant imperfections—and I have. All of the vocals are done live to my own acoustic guitar accompaniment, so it has some “warts,” but, in my effort to not forsake integrity for technical perfection, the album ended up feeling more honest, immediate, naked, and cohesive to me. I am very proud of presenting myself without my typical voluminous bells and whistles. I am left wondering why I haven’t done this more often in the past.” 


The album begins and ends with distortion in the form of tape hiss and analog to digital signal noise. While he might be famous for his egg-beater guitar sounds and synthesizer lines, the album chooses to feature an isolated Jay Bennett, coming to terms with love, loss and un-processed guitar sounds. Put best by the man himself, the album’s “sonic landscape” isn’t polluted with shortwave radio stations or mellotron musings, it’s imperfect and honest. Enjoy! 

Download the album for free via Rock Proper


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

