Endtroducing….

30 07 2008

Hi, I’m vastventriloquism (or Zach), one of the authors of this blog. This is an informal introduction. Over the next week or so hopefully all the authors will write a similar post. 

What I dislike most about blogs is what I dislike about 69 Love Songs, by the Magnetic Fields. There Stephin Merritt is convinced that any little idea (69 of them) that pops into his head is worthy of attention. Most blog authors, mutatis mutandis, suffer from the same problem. 

That being said, I don’t claim that my posts here will be polished or publishable (which isn’t for me to decide in the first place). But I do hope they will contain ideas that are beyond first impressions.

Those ideas will be informed by the following basic facts: I’ve grown up in the Washington D.C. area. I’m a sophomore at a small east-coast liberal arts college. Here are some lists that should fill out a better impression of me. All are in no particular order and in no way definitive. My co-bloggers will make similar lists. 

 

Movies:

Badlands

Apocalypse Now

Annie Hall

 

Albums:

In the Aeroplane Over the Sea – Neutral Milk Hotel

Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band

Somethin’ Else – Cannonball Adderley

Summerteeth – Wilco

Shelter from the Smoke – Bill Fox

The Disintegration Loops – William Basinski

Heart of the Congos – The Congos 

Separation Sunday – The Hold Steady

Call Me – Al Green

Future Days – Can

Fill Up the Room – Saturday Looks Good To Me 

 

Books:

Angle of Repose – Wallace Stegner

King Lear – William Shakespeare 

An American Childhood – Annie Dillard

Collected Poems – Wallace Stevens

Underworld – Don DeLillo

 

I’m not thrilled with the lists of books or albums, but they are good enough. Welcome to the fabakis blog from vastventriloquism.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

